jump to navigation

The Great Debate January 10, 2006

Posted by Binford in Politics.
trackback

I just wanted to wade in on my opinions about last night’s english debate.  The consensus seems to be that Harper and Layton did well while Martin was just average and Duceppe was just out of place.  Of course you can probably say that for Harper as he enters the french debate tonight.  I agree with what most people thought of the debate, but I think many have given Martin too much credit for such a woeful and desperate performance.  Martin looked angry and flustered throughout the night and reduced himself to scolding Duceppe because as we all know, “Quebecers are also polite.  Martin also confused everyone with his idea of turfing the Notwithstanding Clause, which I guess is on the minds of millions of Canadians these days and is a major campaign platform that will do in the Conservatives?  And I could have sworn that he was also trying to make a case for flapping your arms as an alternative energy source.  Doing his part for the Kyoto thing I guess.  Some other observations about the debate:

–  You know I’m bias, but Stephen Harper kicked ass last night.  He actually answered the questions that were posed to him.  He also didn’t snarl, did a good job of keeping his horns from popping out of his forehead, didn’t let his baby blue eyes go red and did a heck of a job of hidding that devilish tail of his in his pants.  Incredible.   

–  I thought the moderator, Steve Paikin, did a great job.  His approach to letting the leaders actually debate should be used as a template in the future.

–  You would think that living and working amongst english speaking people would help to improve your abilities in said language.  It’s certainly not apparent with Duceppe I guess.  Most of the time, I can’t understand a word he says.  Pretty soon the networks will have to hire people to type subtitles for the guy.

So what’s in store for tonight?  You can probably bet that the whole Notwithstanding Clause issue will be brought up again what with Quebec being the only province to ever use it.  Also, can we expect another ‘Hail Mary’ from Martin?  Something that will entice the voters in that province?  I don’t think I’ll be watching the debate tonight but I will be watching the post analysis over on CTV Newsnet.  Hopefully Mike Duffy will have Brian Tobin on his show again just so I can see how smug and arrogant he is.  Man I hate that guy.

Comments»

1. Christine - January 11, 2006

Funny, I felt the same way about listening to Harper attempt to speak French tonight. It hurt my ears.

Agreed=I enjoyed the format the moderator took last night. Very good.


Leave a Reply

